It all starts with an idea that becomes a simple plan that builds through effort to a powerful result. This is how we rebuild Congress to an institution worthy of respect.

Have you heard about the “Punch Clock Agreement?” It’s a non-partisan plan to make our elected officials more accountable to us.

The Punch Clock Agreement

I believe citizens have a right to know what their Member of Congress does every day.

Starting with the next Congress, I promise to publish my daily official work schedule on the Internet, within 24 hours of the end of every work day. I will include all matters relating to my role as a Member of Congress. I will include all meetings with constituents, other Members, and lobbyists, listed by name. (In rare cases I will withhold the names of constituents whose privacy must be protected.) I will also include all fundraising events. Events will be listed whether Congress is in session or not, and whether I am in Washington, traveling, or in my district.

The idea is based on the simple premise that we are all accountable to our employers for the work we do. Why should our representatives be any different? Democrat, Republican or Independent… if you are working for your constituents, why wouldn’t you want us to know what you are doing?

I know, I know. It’s a pretty optimistic notion, to think that they will agree to this. But if the message of this past election is really accountability, then now is a good time to try to make this happen. If you agree, contact your representatives and ask them to sign the agreement. And send this message along to your friends so they can decide for themselves.

