Today was my return to Boot Camp… sort of. I ran the MCRD Boot Camp Challenge, a three mile run across MCRD and through a modified obstacle course. I ran with Robby (the Rabbit!), Joe and Austin.

Before the race, the Senior Drill Instructor gave everyone the safety briefing. Believe me, you did not want to be the man or woman jaw-jackin’ while he was talking. I think the participants got a bit more of an introduction to Marine Corps basic training than they were expecting.

And I had to play the part of “military tourist” and pose with the Marine Corps Humvee.

And my favorite part of any event? Hanging out after I finish, enjoying the food and drinks. I know that junk food and beer are not good for me, but I think of them as my reward for waking up at the crack of dawn and making myself run. This was especially rewarding today. I never thought I would be at MCRD, back at boot camp, surrounded by drill instructors, and drinking a beer. Oohrah!

And after the last runner finished the course, the drill instructors crossed the finish line in formation.

