The best thing about the internet is the number of wonderful websites I stumble across. Some offer great music, others inspiring writing, and still others beautiful photos and drawings. So when I need a boost – something that reminds me that the world is good and full of hope – I have several websites that I visit to make me feel better.

One of my more recent discoveries is a songwriter, singer, and writer named Christine Kane. She is truly a beautiful person. I know her only from her posts and her music, but she has such a wonderful perspective on life and how to get the most out of living it. You can see and hear more of her at her website: http://christinekane.com/blog/

With the recent school shootings, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and all of the other bad news still ringing in my ears, I was particularly impressed with a song called “The Good You Do.” So I thought I would post the lyrics here and encourage everyone to check out this artist. Sometimes, all you need is a reminder about what is good in this world… and in yourself.

The Good You Do

You say that in times like these
You’re driven down to your knees

Looking around grieving what peace there was

You promised yourself you would

Work for a world of good

Look at you now wondering what good it does

No lost hope no violent point of view
Can erase all of the good you do

There’s nothing as dark as night
But nothing so strong as light

Here is the choice: to let it burn out or bright

In a world where the fear and force
Have buried the silent source

Can you deny the need for a light like yours

No fast pace no jaded attitude
Can erase all of the good you do

If someone has left his wrath
On everything in his path
Taking the wealth and leaving his trash behind
Will you be peace or pride
Can you at last decide
There’s no one to fight we are the same inside

So go home and get some rest
There’s many more miles and tests

All about love what if it comes to be all that we have left

No dark place no debt and no abuse
Can erase all of the good you do

