Despite my trepidation about all I am reading in the news these days, I am trying to focus on the changing of the seasons. Today is the first day of Fall, and it actually feels like it here in San Diego. It was 65degs this morning, overcast and chilly with a cool wind blowing. I walked out to the car in my gym clothes – sleeveless shirt and shorts – and couldn’t wait to turn the heat on in my car!

If winter is slumber and spring is birth, and summer is life, then autumn rounds out to be reflection. It’s a time of year when the leaves are down and the harvest is in and the perennials are gone. Mother Earth just closed up the drapes on another year and it’s time to reflect on what’s come before.

Mitchell Burgess, Northern Exposure, Thanksgiving, 1992

So this is the season of reflection. The act of writing this blog encourages that, since I am so often trying to explain what is happening in my life and how it shapes (is shaped by?) by my thought processes. But I will make an effort over the next few months to be more aware of my actions, my words, and my thoughts.

There is a time for everything, and this Fall is the time for me to gather close to those I love and those who love me… to cherish family and friends… and to complete my journey to 40. To all those reading, I say “thank you” for coming along with me.

