Seems weird that summer ends today. There was so much more I wanted to do this year. But there is only so much time, and there are always other things that have to be done.

I think of Saturday morning beach dives, warm air topside and water at depth that isn’t face-numbing. I think of hot afternoons at the beach, shirt off and cold beer in hand. I think of weeknight baseball games, screaming myself hoarse as the Padres squander yet another chance at the pennant. I think of road trips, long winding roads with loud music and good friends. I think of concerts in the park, the night air warm and comfortable.

So how did I do? I did get to dive a few times, but not as much I would have liked. I never laid out at the beach. Not once. The last Padres game I went to was back in Spring. I drove to Santa Barbara and then up to Yosemite, but those were more “drive to get there” trips. And I did make it to a few concerts and shows. All and all, I think I made the most of the time that I had. I connected with friends, reconnected with some old friends, and made a lot of good Summer memories that will tide me over until next year.

It’s tough to be an adult and have to work through Summer. I might have a few days off here or there, but none of us get to take three months off to play like we were kids. Too bad. I would be much happier if I could leave work on June 1st, spend a whole month camping, then another month diving, then another month partying here in San Diego. Wow. How cool would that be?

Okay, back to reality. And back to work. Drat.

(Picture courtesy of Diogo Seoane)

