After fending off a nasty cold and a lingering cough – both of which made for great excuses to not go to the gym – I am back this week and feeling better than ever. I have finally figured out, though, that two workouts a day is too much. I am not giving myself time to recover and I am close to burning out. Not good. Working out once a day is something I can do long-term.

So, I have a new game plan for working out. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday are strength training days. I will ride the bike for 10-15 minutes to warm up, then go through my hour-long weight training program. Tuesday and Thursday are cardio days. I will do some combination of running/cycling/climbing for 60-75 minutes.

On the weekend – Saturday or Sunday – I will find an organized event (5k, 10k, etc) or I will just get on my snazzy new bike and ride alone. It will be a 6th workout, but outdoors and much more fun. And here in San Diego, there are so many courses mapped out that I could do a different one each weekend for the next six months. (Definitely another advantage of living here in Sunny Southern California!)

I’m feeling pretty good right now. I am still seeing improvement – minor but continual – and I can live with that. I don’t expect to have another dramatic weight loss like I did when I began, but that’s okay. I expect to see a slow and steady loss, along with more muscle definition and strength.

I think of this as Get Fit, Version 2.0!

