I’m struggling with maintaining a positive attitude right now about my weight. On one hand, I know that I look and feel so much better than I did just six months ago. On the other hand, I don’t see the dramatic changes anymore, and it is tough to stay motivated. Instead of relying on the “wow, you look so different!” comments from other people, I need to find personal affirmation that I am still on the right track.

And that was yesterday. Would you believe that I have not bought a new pair of blue jeans in the last year? Despite losing so much weight and trimming down my waist, I had still not bought new jeans. I suppose I was thinking, “wait until you are done losing weight and then replace the old wardrobe.” The truth is, I will never be done. This will be a lifelong effort, to stay active and eat healthier. So why not celebrate little victories along the way?

I finally bought a new pair of jeans. And instead of buying the Levi Comfort Fit with a 36″ waist, I bought the 501’s with a 34″ waist. I lost more than 2 inches, since the one style of jeans is big and baggy and the other is more lean-fitting.

I know it may seem shallow to be so excited about something like this, but this is my blog, remember? This is where I keep up with my path to Forty. And so far, I like what I am seeing!

