This morning, AJ and I ventured out early to take part in Dougie’s 7th End of Summer Four Mile Run/Walk. The race was a benefit for the Doug Flutie Jr. Foundation for Autism. It was a quick run, incredibly flat, from La Jolla down to Pacific Beach.

Here we are before the race…

I set two goals for myself. My realistic goal was to run 11-12 minutes miles. My stretch goal was to maintain 10 minute miles. I am proud to say I exceeded even my stretch goal. I finished with a time of 36:47, which means an average pace of 9:12. Yay for me!

It was great to run with AJ, too. Normally, I run these things by myself. It really is better with someone else. And he runs faster than I do, too, so he helped me keep my pace up. Thanks, buddy!

And, I also managed to knock off another of my 40 at Forty items. I wanted to finish a 5k in less than 30 minutes, and I did that today. My 3k time was 29:14. So, I need to remove that from my list and replace it with a different challenge!

And here we are after the race, with delicious refreshments!

And, a side note. My running buddy, Sandy, pictured above on the right, was introducing me and AJ to her friends. She started to introduce the man in the middle of the picture, and he cut her off, saying, “I know John. I was at his wedding.” I didn’t remember him at first, until he mentioned my friend, Julie. Of course. He came to the wedding as her guest. It was nice to see him again, but more than that, it was great to be in such a different environment and have someone recognize me from my wedding. Very cool, I think.

