If there is one thing Americans can agree on right now, it is that we have a lot of serious issues to deal with as a country. We may disagree on the solutions, but we all know that we have work to do on areas like these:

  • The wars in Iraq and Afghanistan
  • Americans without health insurance
  • Rising oil prices
  • Hurricane recovery and defense
  • The stalled economy
  • Skyrocketing deficit
  • Homelessness
  • Poverty

So what are the highest priorities, according to the Republican leadership in the Senate? Gay marriage and flag burning. According to Senate Majority Leader (and resident moron) Bill Frist, these are the most pressing issues that need the attention of our nation’s lawmakers. Check out the details from Think Progress.

If any of my Republican friends can explain this to me, I am willing to listen. Otherwise, accept that the Republican Party knows that the only way they can win in the upcoming election is to frighten their base into rallying around them. What these people are thinking, I don’t know. Do they really sit around and worry about fags and flags? I can hear them now: “Oh my God, the homos are coming for my son…and they are carrying a flaming Old Glory!”

How embarrassing for all of us, that this sort of pandering to the lowest common denominator actually works in our country. I can only hope and pray that we are better than this.

