It’s interesting to me how quickly things can change. It was just 7 months ago that Brenda signed me up for my first 5k run in Chicago. Since then, I have continued to run in at least one 5k event each month. In addition, I have done biking events and started going to the gym. (I know, I know… I have already talked about going to the gym. This is not about my weight, though, I promise.)

What has changed is the overall level of physical activity in my life. Before, I was very busy, but much of what I was doing was sedentary. Schoolwork had me sitting in front of my computer, as did web surfing and computer games. Going out with friends meant meeting for dinner or drinks. Outdoor events were limited to watching the Padres play baseball. And I was watching a lot more television.

Now, though, after work, I am heading to the gym or going diving. On the weekends, I am diving or biking or running some event. Hanging out with friends now is more likely to involve a long bike ride than a night of drinking. I still enjoy that, of course. But now it is done in moderation, and I prefer to participate in the outdoor activities rather than watch them.

It has not been an overnight change, which I think is probably better in the long run. Rather, I continue to make small changes over time that I can maintain. For me, now, I am feeling stronger, happier, and better about myself than I have in a long time. That has to be a change in the right direction.

