What an incredible weekend we had in Phoenix! From the flights to logistics, food and entertainment, festival and partying… everything worked out. It was one of the best trips I have ever taken. With friends already in Scottsdale and Chandler, and others in from Atlanta, Temecula, and San Diego, we had a fantastic adventure.

Thursday evening, several of us flew into Phoenix – me, Ric, Rocky, and Andrea. Nate met us at the airport, and we checked into our hotel then walked over to Roscoe’s for cocktails. (Note, cocktails will be a recurring theme.) It’s a gay sports bar, which means it looks like every other sports bar with the addition of rainbow flags and sexier posters. We met up with Bridgette there, and we had a few beers and a few laughs. (Beer and laughter are a DEFINITE recurring theme.)

Friday morning, I went to L.A. Fitness with Nate and Bridgette. A painful hour of cardio later, we went our separate ways. They joined Andrea for a “girls’ day out,” which meant pedicures and lots of wine. I joined Rocky and Ric poolside back at the hotel, then I took a great nap. Oh, vacations are so nice.

Late afternoon Friday, Ric headed to the gym while Rocky and I met up with the group for more drinks. From Acme to BS West to Dos Gringos, we were a wandering band of troublemakers. We even met up with Nate’s brother, Kenny, and his wife, Brandy. Cue the yummy margaritas and the delicious bar food!

Friday evening, and Ric, Rocky and I headed to Padlock. There, we met up with Tim, Brooks, Russ and Trevor. While we were there, Nate, Bridgette, Andrea and others headed out for “Straight Night” somewhere. (Maybe they can comment and add some details.)

Saturday morning, and we all got moving just in time to get to the parade.

(More to come… I just need to get this posted so I can add the next entries. I will finish this post sometime this week.)

