After struggling with my sinuses for over a week, I was finally able to dive today. I had my first two beach dives, and everything went well. I was so tired after walking all the way to the beach, swimming way out on the surface, then diving. I came home by 1pm and was immediately sound asleep. I napped until 4:00pm, then Bridgette and I went back to the dive shop for a little more practice “clearing masks.”

After a couple of attempts, I finally figured out what I was doing wrong. I changed the way I remove my mask when trying to flood it, and the difference is amazing. I can now partially flood my mask, fully flood my mask, and completely remove the mask, then clear it by blowing air into it. I feel so much more comfortable now with the whole process. Whew.

Tomorrow, we are all heading out on a boat and going diving at the Coronado Islands. We will be heading down to 60 feet, and the visibility should be so great. More pictures later, but for now I need to go to sleep. Tomorrow is a long, long day.

